Recent Sales

Oh why hello! Here’s a running list of my recent sales, books written by my lovely P.S. Literary clients.

For more on each of those deals, the story of how those books happened, etc. click on the “more” link to read the blog posts announcing them, which generally talk about me crying a lot.

You can also add all of these to your Goodreads! Here’s a bookshelf that lists all my authors’ titles.

things

These Things I’ve Done by Rebecca Phillips
HarperTeen, August 2017

A contemporary YA perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Jessi Kirby, the story of a seventeen-year-old girl who accidentally caused her best friend’s death and, a year later, is still grappling with the consequences.

Before: Dara and Aubrey have been inseparable since they became best friends in sixth grade. However, as they begin their sophomore year of high school, cracks in their friendship begin to form, testing the bond they always thought was unbreakable.

After: It’s been fifteen months since the accident that killed Aubrey, and not a day goes by that Dara isn’t racked with guilt over her role in her best friend’s death. Dara thought nothing could be worse than confronting the memories of Aubrey that relentlessly haunt her, but she soon realizes it isn’t half as difficult as seeing Ethan, Aubrey’s brother, every day. Not just because he’s a walking reminder of what she did, but because the more her feelings for him change, the more she knows she’s betraying her best friend one final time.

Add it on Goodreads, order it on Amazon, from Barnes & Noble, or your favorite indie bookseller with IndieBound. Learn more about how this book happened, here.


temptation adam

The Temptation of Adam by Dave Connis
Sky Pony Press, November 2017

Adam Hawthorne is fine. Yeah, his mother left, his older sister went with her, and his dad would rather read Nicholas Sparks novels than talk to him. And yeah, he spends his nights watching self-curated porn video playlists.

But Adam is fine.

When a family friend discovers Adam’s porn addiction, he’s forced to join an addiction support group: the self-proclaimed Knights of Vice. He goes because he has to, but the honesty of the Knights starts to slip past his defenses. Combine that with his sister’s out-of-the-blue return and the attention of a girl he meets in an AA meeting, and all the work Adam has put into being fine begins to unravel.

Now Adam has to face the causes and effects of his addiction, before he loses his new friends, his prodigal sister, and his almost semi-sort-of girlfriend.

Add it on Goodreads, order it on Amazon (pre-order links to Barnes & Noble and IndieBound coming soon). Learn more about how this book happened, here.

LOVE_HATE_AND_OTHER_FILTERS

Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed
Soho Teen, January 2018

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacquelyn Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy), and the one where she goes to film school in New York City–and maybe, just maybe, kisses a guy she’s only known from afar. There’s the also the fun stuff, like laughing with her best friend Violet, making on-the-spot documentaries, sneaking away for private swimming lessons at a secret pond in the woods.

But her world is shattered when a suicide bomber strikes in the American heartland; by chance, he shares Maya’s last name. What happens to the one Muslim family in town when their community is suddenly consumed with hatred and fear?

Add it on Goodreads here, and order it from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or your favorite indie bookstore. And learn more about how I met Samira in a Twitter contest, and how that led to her book deal, here.

feelings border

Eat Your Feelings by Lindsey Smith
St. Martin’s Press / Wednesday Books, January 2018

Lindsey Smith, The Food Mood Girl, shows how you can transform your lifestyle by learning from your cravings and using mood-boosting ingredients every day.

Blending together Lindsey Smith’s passion for health and wellness, food and humor, Eat Your Feelings is a humorous, lighthearted take on your typical diet book.

If you are feeling sad, stressed, exhausted, hangry, or bored, it’s comforting to eat dishes you love and crave. But Lindsey Smith shows how simple it is to make those same meals and snacks with mood-boosting ingredients that will physically nourish instead of processed foods. In Eat Your Feelings, Lindsey Smith, the Food Mood Girl, will look at ways to eat healthy food based on what people tend to crave the most during heightened emotional states, introducing recipes with crunchy, cheesy, creamy, sweet, and salty themes and drink alternatives for those who tend to chug soda or coffee when all worked up…

Read the full jacket copy on St. Martin’s Press’ website! You can order this book on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or from your favorite indie bookstore! Learn more about how I met Lindsey at a pitch event, and how that led to this book, here.

 

WHEN THE BEAT DROPS

When the Beat Drops by Anna Hecker

Sky Pony Press, May 2018

Seventeen-year-old Mira has always danced to her own beat. A music prodigy in a family of athletes, she’d rather play trumpet than party — and with her audition to a prestigious jazz conservatory just around the corner (and her two best friends at music camp without her), she plans to spend the summer focused on jazz and nothing else.

She only goes to the warehouse party in a last-ditch effort to bond with her older sister. Instead, she falls in love with dance music, DJing… and Derek, a gorgeous promoter who thinks he can make her a star. Suddenly trumpet practice and old friendships are taking a backseat to the packed dance floors, sun-soaked music festivals, outsized personalities, and endless beats of the EDM scene.

But when a devastating tragedy plunges her golden summer into darkness, Mira discovers just how little she knows about her new boyfriend, her old friends, and even her own sister. Music is what brought them together… but will it also tear them apart?

Learn more about how this book came to be, here! Add it on Goodreads here, and pre-order via Amazon, Barnes & Noble (soon!), or your favorite indie bookseller.

 

GirlYouThought_jkt (1)

The Girl You Thought I Was by Rebecca Phillips
HarperTeen, July 2018

No one looking at Morgan Kemper would think she had a secret-at least not one that she’s deeply ashamed of. To everyone she meets, she comes across as sweet, pretty, and put together. But Morgan knows that looks can be deceiving. For over a year, she’s shoplifted countless pieces of clothing and makeup. Each time she tells herself it will be the last, and each time it never is.

But when she’s caught and sentenced to thirty hours of community service, the image Morgan has carefully constructed starts to crumble. She’s determined to complete her punishment without her friends discovering the truth about her sticky fingers, but that’s easier said than done…Especially once she meets Eli, the charming, handsome nephew of the owner of the charity shop where Morgan is volunteering. Soon, Morgan is faced with an impossible decision: continue to conceal the truth or admit that she’s lied to everyone in her life, including the boy she’s falling for.

Pre-order links soon! Learn more about how this deal happened, here, and add it on Goodreads!

Brave Enough by Kati Gardner
Flux, Spring 2018

Pitched as Bunheads meets The Fault in Our Stars, in which a ballerina is diagnosed with a bone tumor, connects with a fellow patient who is battling his own demons, and pushes to find the strength to dance again at a cancer camp.

Learn more about how this book came to be, here!

Luminator by Laurel Amberdine
REUTS, Spring 2018

Pitched as a mix of Under the Never Sky and Girl of Fire & Thorns, set in a world where nations wage an endless war over an island that produces deadly magical light, a young Luminator with the ability to manipulate that light, and a rebel with a heart set on peace, must join forces to save their realm while wrestling with growing feelings for one another.

Add it on Goodreads here, and learn more about this deal here.

Making Friends With Giants by Bassey Ikpi
Harper Perennial, Fall 2018

Mental health advocate and former Def Poetry Jam star Bassey Ikpi’s essay collection MAKING FRIENDS WITH GIANTS, a deeply personal work that chronicles the Nigerian-American author’s life living with Bipolar II disorder and anxiety as a woman of color, and combating the stigma surrounding it.

Learn more about how this book came to be, here!

Pax Novis by Erica Cameron
Entangled Teen, Fall 2018

A YA trilogy pitched as The Expanse meets Star Trek: Voyager, in which the human colonies spread across the Milky Way have been at war for centuries and everyone depends on the resources carried by massive cargo ships, and though they don’t know it, some stowaway teens hiding on-board the NOVIS may be humankind’s only hope when these ships start to vanish.

Learn more about this series and how it came to be, here. You can add the entire Pax Novis trilogy to your Goodreads list here, too!

 —

A Spark of White Fire by Sangu Mandanna
Sky Pony Press, Fall 2018

Sangu Mandanna’s A Spark of White Fire trilogy, pitched as Red Rising meets An Ember in the Ashes, a multi-cultural YA space opera inspired by the Mahabharata, in which a cursed and forgotten child of an empire’s queen wants to return to her real family . . . and finds herself on the wrong side of a war that could destroy kingdoms across the galaxy.

Learn more about how this book came to be, here!

 —

Grown Up Drinks by Sam Slaughter
Andrews McMeel, Fall 2018

Spirits editor for The Manual Sam Slaughter’s GROWN UP DRINKS, on how to make cocktails inspired by nostalgic 90′s beverages like Ecto Cooler and Capri Sun as well as original themed craft cocktails like Are You Afraid of the Dark Rum.

Learn more about how this book came to be, here!

Speak the Ocean by Rebecca Enzor
REUTS Publishing, Fall 2018

Rebecca Enzor’s SPEAK THE OCEAN, pitched as THE LITTLE MERMAID meets BLACKFISH, in which a trainer at the world’s first mermaid theme park has to risk his life and turn his back on the people he cares about, to let the world know that the park’s ill-treated mermaids are just as human as we are.

Learn more about how this book came to be, here!

Suggested Reading by Dave Connis
Katherine Tegen Books, Fall 2019

A YA contemporary novel in which a teen girl responds to her school’s overreaching book ban by starting an underground library. Her secret book hustling sparks a reading rebellion that sweeps through the school, sparking a wildfire of unforeseen consequences, friendships, and conversations about the importance of empathy, pitched as The Book Thief meets Andrew Smith’s Winger.

Learn more about how this book happened, here.

Comments

Leave a comment

name*

email* (not published)

website